Pallet Trellis

Picture of trellis made from pallets

Pallet Trellis

I had not personally seen a pallet trellis before, but it seemed like an easy project to help us grow vertically in the garden. We picked up some free non-treated wooden pallets from a local business (found on Craigslist). Then we removed some of the slats to accommodate the various sizes of the veggies we want to grow. Some of the pallets didn’t need this step as a few slats were conveniently missing. We leaned the pallets against each other in an A-frame shape, measured the distance we wanted at the base, and renailed the removed slats to hold it together on the sides. We know this isn’t a long term solution, but the price was right for as long as they last, and it’s reusing materials that might otherwise have been discarded.

The trellis in the picture is intended for cukes. There is more room between the pallet and the block edge than it appears. The ones for squash have wider spacing between slats and will be placed on the ground. Although the concrete blocks in the picture have uncovered holes, we aim to put cement “cap” blocks on all the raised beds. I know others will use the holes as additional growing space, but we like the look and functionality of capped block for seating while weeding and picking.

Tomorrow is the day we plan to hunt down the veggie with the reputation. The bottom and top can be served two ways, on a plate or in a vase.

This entry was posted in Garden, Pallet Projects, Reuse Item Ideas and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Pallet Trellis

  1. jengod says:

    Did you ever use this? How did it work? Would love to do something similar in my yard but not sure if you think it’s worth the effort!

    • We did use it. We used four pallet trellises in the garden, two for squash and two for cucumbers. Overall, they helped use space more efficiently. The cukes did not want to vine up them, so we helped them with twine. For the squash, attaching them with twine seemed to work out really well until they were hit with squash borers. The vines that were trained up the trellis were more vulnerable to dying off. I moved a vine with fruit on it to the ground to try to encourage more roots to keep it going, but it was too late. I think letting some grow on the ground from the start to develop backup root systems is a good strategy if hit by pests. Though we also had furry pests get at squash on the ground that were not up on the trellis, so we brushed those with hot sauce. Next season we plan to reuse our pallets for both cukes and squash, but we will try the floating row cover around the squash to try to avoid losing entire vines on the trellis like we did this year. We have space to allow some squash vines to trail around, so will use a mixed method again with increased vigilance on our part for the borers.

  2. Julie Grant says:

    do u think it would work for zucchini??? I love zucchini more than squash….

    • I have not tried zucchini on a trellis, but it should work if the variety vines well. Our cukes did not “climb” a trellis on their own, and tended to spill over the sides a little. Fabric ties helped.

      • Charlotte says:

        My cucs loved climbing up my chicken wire fence but needed more support. I wonder if you just stapled some chicken wire to your trellis if they would climb on their own more easily. I think I’m going to build one of these pallet trellis this year and try it! Thanks for the idea!

      • That sounds like a good way to improve on it. Our squash didn’t have a problem, but you’re right about cukes or other plants needing more support. Sorry it took a while to approve the comment. I’ve been on the blog less now, but Mutti’s health is improving day by day.

  3. Bubby says:

    I’d do pumpkins or watermelon on this. With a little support hose, they would do great, and their vines are thicker.

  4. billie says:

    Last summer we used tomato cages for our cukes. It was perfect and so much easier to harvest.

  5. Shayna says:

    I blog frequently and I truly appreciate your information.

    This great article has really peaked my interest. I’m going to bookmark your blog and keep checking for new information about once a week. I subscribed to your Feed as well.

    • Thank you for your kind words. During the winter months we take a break so there are few if any posts. But that doesn’t mean we’re not thinking about the garden. This year we’re going to try out a different way to deter Japanese Beetles that I saw elsewhere online. We’re always learning and trying new things!

  6. U constructed quite a few good tips inside your article,
    ā€œPallet Trellis | earthlytenthomesteadā€.
    I may remain returning to your webpage shortly. With thanks -Francesco

  7. Mary says:

    I uses an old metal clothes dryer for cucumbers and it worked great. The old wooden ones would work also.

  8. tinyurl.com says:

    ā€œPallet Trellis | earthlytenthomesteadā€ tirey was a
    terrific article, canā€™t help but wait to browse alot more of ur posts.
    Time to spend a bit of time on the internet lolz.
    Many thanks -Ramon

  9. Geri says:

    I really like it when individuals come together and share ideas.
    Great website, continue the good work!

  10. proudnonna says:

    Do you think tomatoes can work on this? I too, will start following your blog. I am a brand new gardener and need all the help i can get.I don’t even know where i am planting yet (containers, garden box, garden). But I will be gardening. the prices of vegetables are getting ridiculous.

  11. Carmen says:

    I plant my cucumbers next to my chain link fence they climb up the fence .

Leave a comment