The Mancan Can!

Ripening buckwheatWho can take some buckwheat,

sprinkle it with dew,

make it look like chocolate chips,

when ripened up for you?

The Mancan can cause it mixes it with love and makes the world taste good. To those familiar with the Candyman, my apologies. Back in July after digging up the garlic I had the plan to plant Mancan Buckwheat both as a cover crop to boost the nutrients in the soil and for seeds to grind. Then I got concerned they might not ripen in time.

The flowers were enjoyable, and the blooms attract beneficial insects really well. But, I’m also glad we’ve gotten mature seeds. As my parody goes, they look like chocolate chips. I’ve chosen to harvest them by hand as they ripen instead of waiting for most of them to mature. That’s time-consuming, and not so great on the back for long periods of time. I’m not sure I’d harvest this way again, but in shorter spurts of picking it’s ok. So far I’ve picked a 1/4 of a pound.

Mancan Buckwheat

This entry was posted in Food, Garden and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

