Tabouli Recipe

bowl of tabouli among garden tomatoes on tableTabouli is one of my favorite salads in summer. I made this for dinner this week and snapped a shot of it on our table with the tomatoes that have only recently started to ripen. I should say it’s a modified version of tabouli because I don’t use bulgur but quinoa. Quinoa, for those who don’t know, is a grain from South America that is a complete protein and is a nutritious alternative for those on a gluten-free diet. We’re not on a special diet, but I tried making tabouli with quinoa for a family gathering because we didn’t know for sure if a niece was having a reaction to wheat, and I’ve made it with quinoa ever since. I was able to pick almost all of the ingredients for this from the garden – the tomatoes, cucumber, onion, and mint. I could also have picked parsley but I forgot it! I wish it was easier to grow quinoa, as I’ve read that it is kind of tricky to grow outside of South America. Though some folks in Colorado have had success! I tried planting some of my quinoa seeds this summer but they didn’t come up. I’ll need to review way to maintain optimal germinating conditions before trying again. I think it may have been our chilly spring to blazing hot weather.

Anyway, on to a really good recipe for using up some fresh garden produce. I like to eat this as it is, on greens, or stuffed in a pita pocket bread.

Tabouli

1 cup quinoa (or bulgur for traditional tabouli)
2 tbsp dried mint or double that amount for fresh
1/2 cup parsley or less
4-6 green onions
2 medium-sized tomatoes
1 large cucumber
2 tbsp olive oil (or more if you like)
4 tbsp lemon juice
salt and pepper to taste
Garlic is optional. I don’t typically use it for this dish.

This entry was posted in Food, Garden and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

