Kohlrabi: How Do I Love Thee?

plain kohlrabiEarly this spring, when the irises were blooming in the yard, I had a yen to write a haiku poem. Well, now with Minnesota participating in the nation-wide summer heat wave, it’s time to write a passionate sonnet for a fun and esteemed vegetable that neither Mutti nor I had tried before, until recently.

With sincere apologies to Elizabeth Barrett Browning (1806-1861), and to all her fans, I have written a light parody of a popular sonnet of hers below, in honor of the new vegetable in our lives. A recipe for quick kohlrabi pickles follows, so if you want to skip the kissing part like the kid in Princess Bride you can cut to the slicing and dicing after the poem.

Kohlrabi (by yours truly)

How,do I love thee? Let me count the ways.
Of your root depth, your form, and leafy height
The Sputnik shape, so lunar, out of sight.
You land on our table, as if from space.
Eaten raw, or pickled, we all say grace.
My finger scrolls through recipes online.
So many variations, folks opine
Of this or that way’s best inspired taste.
I love thee for your varied ways to use.
Yet, none of my recipes old or new
Featured you. No, I never thought to choose
With all my taste buds, or ev’n just a few.
This vegetable now found, let none confuse
My globe shaped tough-skinned wonder that is you.

Slicing and Dicing

Here is a link to a quick kohlrabi pickle recipe that I tried from the Restaurant Widow’s Blog. The following is a paraphrase of the basic steps.

Peel and trim kohlrabi bulbs and cut into cubes. Use olive oil, unsweetened rice vinegar or other something like cooking wine or white vinegar as a marinade with salt and pepper to taste. Shake it up and leave in an airtight container for a few hours. It improves with time in the fridge.

Below are just a few other links I came across that had interesting variations on using kohlrabi.

Pickled Kohlrabi Chinese Style (This page even has a little “Buttercup” pictured. That’s serendipity for you).

Kohlrabi: Simply Recipes

metalic effect kohlrabisolarized effect kohlrabiwhite noise effect kohlrabi

This entry was posted in Food, Garden and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

